The car with ribbons

My friend and I were walking one day on the beach towards a restaurant when we saw a parked car with tons of ribbons on it.  He then said “oh, you shouldn’t have..

At first, I was clueless as to what he was saying. But I already saw the car. When I finally got it, I asked “you thought it was a gift?” with a smirk and a raised eyebrow.

Well, yeah.. that’s why I said, you shouldn’t have.” he replied, smilingly.

I explained that the car with ribbons is a wedding car.  He got quiet. And then, I played along.

I suppose if it were a gift, shouldn’t it be mine? I mean, I need a new car.” I said.

I added, “Hmmmm.. nice car. I like it – without the groom, of course.

He laughed but stopped. Somehow he can see I was a bit serious… But as I utter those words, I wasn’t thinking of anything.  It didn’t mean anything.  I was just muttering.  So I smiled.

We then went on walking and got into the restaurant.

 

 

 

 

– Anecdote:  14 Jan 2017

3 thoughts on “The car with ribbons

Leave a Reply

