On Being Single

Single blessedness.

Why does everyone assume that once you are out of a relationship, you jump into another immediately?  Can I stay single for a while?

I have been in a very long-term, long-distance relationship.  And after a while, it had taken its toll.  It might be devastating but it’s for the best.  I have spent too long on a “lost cause”.  We both know it’s coming.  I have kept quiet about it.  Not all my friends know.

Anyway, apparently, now that I’m single, people who knew what happened have asked me – i mean, on several occasions – “so are you ready to mingle?”, “how’s your lovelife?” or “do you have a boyfriend now?”.  Can I breathe first?

And whenever I say, “I’m not looking” or “I’m not ready yet!” there’s a follow-up comment – “You’re not getting any younger.  Do you even have plans to get married, settle down, have a family, etc.?”

To clarify.  Yes, I want to settle down.  Of course, I want to have a family.  Yes, I am getting older (no need to rub it in).  No one grows younger, except for Benjamin Button (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button).

But I don’t want to push myself into doing something I’m not ready for.  I know deep inside that if I give in to their persistence – to their sneaky setups, they’ll just be disappointed.  I just want to let things flow.  I have held myself back too long that I’ve finally have a chance to do what I want, and now is the best time.

I am not closing myself to meeting people.  I just don’t expect everything to go immediately or straight to a relationship.  It will scare him and me.

If during the course of my journey, I found what God has destined for me, that would be awesome.  But right now, I’m taking my time.  No need to hurry.  When the time is right, it will come.

2 thoughts on “On Being Single

  1. I don’t know why but most people, especially those in a relationship, seem to look at us single people as a “problem to be solved, a living mystery, or a wandering weirdo”…when they were once single too. 😉

    While there are a few of us that are really destined to be called in a life of “single blessedness,” why can’t they just let us live our own way in pursuit of our destiny?

    I don’t know if you’ve read this yet, but just to share my own journey, here’s one for all >> https://seekersportal.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/bakit-single-ka-pa-rin-part-1-prelude-to-a-kiss/

    • parang mas acceptable yata sa lalake kapag sinabi ang mga palusot na yun. Sa babae kasi, hinahabol ang edad. mahirap na raw kasi magkaanak pag me edad na.

      I know the risks. But di naman pedeng yun lang ang dahilan kaya ipu-push mo yung sarili mo para magkarelasyon. at parang curse daw kapag “single” ka pa rin in your 30s. as if!

      i’m taking my time… there are still perks to being single…

Leave a Reply

